top of page
  • Writer's pictureOGKK Australia

The Stages of Karate Understanding

Every now and then, well actually more often than not, I have moments of WTF am I doing? WTF am I teaching or think I’m teaching? Why the F do you even want to train with me? Basically, WTF do I know? Then I see online randoms and think maybe, just maybe I do in fact understand more than I think I do. I am aware that comparing with anyone or anything in life is never ideal, but does make me wonder at times how others perceive themselves.


Some people seem to ‘know it all’, but in reality know jack all. On the other end of the spectrum, you have the quiet, long-lost sensei or karate practitioners that seem to have the answers to everything, but due to not wanting to be in the spotlight, the foreign population do not have any idea of their existence.

As I was sipping on wine on this lovely sunny Australia Day holiday, was just thinking how most people who don’t even do a martial art know that a coloured belt system exists - regardless of which martial arts. But how many people out there (especially karate people) are aware of the different stages of understanding? Here I share with you what I think somewhat represents that….. (Feel free to contact

me if more stages need to be included)


The more I train, the more I enjoy everything about it. Additionally, the more I know and understand what I am doing, the more I know what it is that I don’t know or understand... Hope that makes some kind of sense... Happy Straya Day!


42 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page