top of page
  • Writer's pictureOGKK Australia

The TOP Unconventional Expectations & Myths VS Reality!

Welcome to Brisbane OGKK's Myths VS Reality. We've all seen and read what works, what doesn't in the fighting world. So, I won't be going into anything like that. Just some random scheisse experienced over the year or so.....


EXPECTATION/MYTH 1

Potential Student Inquiry:-

“Good morning Sensei, I would love the opportunity to train and learn from you. I will do whatever it takes. I will kneel in hail and rain on a bed of dog poo until you accept me as a student. Just give me the opportunity, I beg of you oh superior one”.

REALITY

What they actually say:-

“What day you train?” OR “I’d like to train at your dojo because it’s close to my work”

(Notice greetings not used.)


EXPECTATION/MYTH 2

The student will take pride wearing their gi and wash it after every session.

REALITY

Excuse me mate, you have mould growing around the collars and the back of your gi. Can I just add that your BO is wretched too! Don’t you think it’s time you finally wash that thing?


EXPECTATION/MYTH 3

Student begs to mop and wipe down the dojo floors sparkling clean Cinderella style before and after training.

REALITY

A) Student attempts to clean the floor, but it’s worse than before training started.

B) Calls the missus from work to ask if she could clean it before students arrive. God bless you!


EXPECTATION/MYTH 4

Sensei says use a fax machine, phone, or pigeons to communicate. Student obliges willingly.

REALITY

Student refuses to download messenger chat as they hate social media.


EXPECTATION/MYTH 5

Sanchin tests the students mind, body and spirit.

REALITY

Sanchin tests how quick the sensei can move when a wack to the traps fires out a gush of student sweat and other nasties!


Have a Happy New Year everyone!

37 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page