top of page
  • Writer's pictureOGKK Australia

Being yourself

The other night, my students and I decided to get together and have a sit-down meal…no training, no punching, just sit, talk and live the moment. After many drinks were consumed, many weird and wonderful things were discussed. Numerous deep and meaningfuls, though I’m not too sure how much of it they remember. One thing that struck me was how some of them expressed the reasons why they were so elated in having found us. Not that I ever had any intention of wanting to satisfy anyone’s needs, but the consensus amongst the group was the fact that apparently, I am myself, no bs’ing of anything nor beating around the bush, maybe too blunt for regular society and in particular the mainstream karate world. It is quite nice to have a small group where there is that mutual respect.

I guess the seeking of approval begins from a young age through parents always praising their child, but as we grow and mature, I think there is a necessity to start looking at ourselves and ask do I need other people’s approval. Does it matter how nice our car or home is? Many people seem to lose themselves along the way in life’s journey, and may even continue to the day they die. What a sad life it would be if one’s karate journey was only about having that constant desire to be appraised and accepted by others.

I lied, we trained....and trained after midnight.. No gi, no probs!

Train hard and train for yourself my friends!

44 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page