top of page
  • Writer's pictureOGKK Australia

Getting used to the unexpected

It was only about a month ago when Brisbane had a lockdown, and here I am writing away in the middle of another one. The more lockdowns there are, the more we seem to be accustomed to the routine. And that once baffling sight of the mad rush to grab that elusive toilet paper, is now simply becoming a part of life – Totally desensitised to such madness, nothing seems odd to me anymore, well that was until a few days ago…..


So I viewed some new pics of our dojo over in Okinawa. I can’t lie here, but rather shocked, disappointed, andWTF was the first thing I felt. How can some soft blue mats make me feel like my partner has been cheating on me? Am I overreacting here or being over-protective of tradition? I thought people scurrying to buy up all the toilet paper was mind boggling, but this almost gave me a heart attack. Yes, mats can be easily pulled out, but at the same time, it feels a little sad to see that things seem to be changing there….. Maybe because of the influence of karate in the Olympics, maybe because of the younger generation’s needs, or more simply – they just wanted a change. Either way, it is not really my business and maybe not even worth writing about but just had to get it out.

Thanks for listening to my first world problems.


No more toilet paper, no more beef or chicken in the meat aisle, and now no more wooden floors. What's next?

"Beautiful" blue mats

48 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page