top of page
  • Writer's pictureOGKK Australia

How rich are you?

As I sat down in front of the computer desk at work today, I noticed the previous user had left the PC open at some motivational speech on Youtube. Was this some kind of message that I needed to get through the challenges of the day? You may have heard of the book, Rich Dad Poor Dad, well that was the gentleman on show. Curiosity got the better of me, and the play button clicked. What he had to say was quite interesting and noteworthy, that is, if your priority in life is purely about gaining hefty monetary rewards. Check the video below.

But what happens when you have zero aspirations of becoming wealthy? Modern life for the majority is a battle, a battle to constantly gain more money, more luxury, and comfort. Instead of bringing joy, this lifestyle can often bring stress and anxieties, and even worse, lowering one’s standards in order to reap financial benefits. Look at all the McDojos out there who feel they must provide the latest gimmick, incorporate weapons in their syllabus to attract new members, become affiliated with another organization in order to become more “powerful”, or even having to produce online tutorials or DVDs for a fee. In my eyes, no amount of dough can provide a healthy life, a flexible body supple enough to perform hyperextended splits, nor can it produce knuckles of doom or shins of steel. This, I would much prefer.

The man, and my inspiration when I was a kid.

A few weeks ago, when I held a party after training, I was asked what the occasion was. There was no birthday or anniversary, but for me, bringing everybody together provides me that joy and satisfaction that money cannot buy. Good company, good vibes, and of course great wines…. This to me is the definition of rich.

40 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page