top of page
  • Writer's pictureOGKK Australia

Lockdown 3.0 ....... Ahh the serenity....

Did you hear that? No, neither did I. The relaxing peace and quiet of lockdown once again here in rainy Brisvegas. Just got out of the dojo and it seems rather unusual that such serenity can exist in my part of town. Lockdown brings a calm and stillness in me which I take into the dojo. Knowing that normal daily life has been temporarily halted, I have time again to focus on me, and only myself. It’s a pleasant feeling having that life-reset button pressed every now and then.

Sometimes I ask myself if it is healthy to always serve others before I attend myself. Am I really doing myself any good by looking after everyone else first and then having nothing left in my own tank? Whether it be rushing straight back from work and into the dojo to train and teach students, or never declining the boss working overtime, or taking care of family matters and so on. Some days I feel my tank is empty, emptier than Kim Kardashian's head - well actually every week. It’s only the third day of lockdown, but I’m feeling invigorated again. How a simple three-day break from everything can do such wonders.


It makes me think though, how all the Okinawans and the many karate sensei over there must be feeling. This year plus extended break from all the foreigners invading their hometown must be doing them more benefit than harm. Ahh crap, I forgot I’m a foreigner too, but the moronic karate tourists and youtubers that the locals have to deal with consistently, must be nice not having to encounter such mental disorder..... ahhh the serenity!


42 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page