top of page
  • Writer's pictureOGKK Australia

The Art of Silence

Remember that feeling of waking up the morning after a big night on the booze and thinking to yourself – “Oh crap, what did I say to such and such last night?” “I didn’t did I? Noooo wayyy!” Well, that wasn’t me this morning haha. I was thinking at times, whether or not it is actually my responsibility to comment on certain things in and out of the dojo or rather keep my mouth shut in order to maintain “peace”. Let time drift and all shall be gradually forgotten – comments can be offensive to some and what is said can’t be taken back right? After all, who am I? Just someone who is passionate about karate and simply showing others what I have been taught. Apart from punching, kicking and ooooooossssing (Sorry, just love typing Ooooooooosu), is it the sensei’s duty to actually maintain good vibes, resolve issues, or whatever it is amongst members and not just simply to instruct?


One ‘silence – shut up’ moment learned in Oki was no matter how drunk and jovial you are whilst busting out tunes in karaoke, is that there will always be a barrier which fellow drunks and strangers should maintain – especially when other patrons know you belong to a certain respected dojo. It wasn’t until I saw my sensei use the ZIP IT hand gesture to my sempai that I thought, cool – as friendly as the locals are, there too are limits on how close and how much shit-talking should be.


Must admit, there have been numerous times I have been glad I kept my mouth shut both in and out of the dojo - as mentioned in a previous blog, there is no point holding onto opinions like our life depended on it. Dealing with people from different walks of life on a daily basis I guess you learn to listen more than speak, and keep your mouth shut when need be. How many times have you listened to the same old stories from your mates, family, or co-workers? You want to tell them that you heard it a million times but can't..... Think I'm drifting off to a different topic now.. Anyway, was just a thought, time to keep silent …......


34 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page