top of page
  • Writer's pictureOGKK Australia

The Mysterious Kobudo Boom

The past few weeks have seen a huge increase in kobudo inquires. I've been wondering to myself if there has been a secret spin off of Cobra Kai where everything is kobudo based or something which I don't know about. Several inquiries did mention that they found us due to googling Gaja Sensei, but why now?? How would you even know who he is? So you want to train with us so you can say you are under Gaja Sensei?? You want to start so you can then over-charge your karate students for something you see as a good money making opportunity??

So a minute ago I was sent a link to some super big ding a ling youtuber's kobudo profile/website where he states he has trained under Gaja Sensei. More like trained uninvitingly to his dojo once, for 2 hours pretending to be a gentleman but with the sole intent of filming for the entirety only to later falsify so much BS on his youtube videos. I think those around me know how much I detest this tw-t (Sorry Al if I sound angry again), so maybe to stir me up they like to send me stuff about him non-stop. Anyway, the art of promoting oneself and organisation in order to gain more viewers, and students for popularity and/or money will forever run riot in this world. Just like racism, murder, or rape even if it is something that we want stopped (well for some of us), it will simply continue until the earth goes kaboom!


I have no problems with people charging an arm and a leg....or a kidney, no issues with people promoting themselves to be super shihan, even nothing against a club that likes to have dragons on their purple gis with 10 multi-coloured tips on their belts (it's none of my business). However, to use a Sensei, in our case our sensei to add to "look-at-who-I-have-trained-with" Karate CV for the purpose of getting more clicks or more people to their seminars for self-benefit... just doesn't sit well with me....


To all my friends, for my inner peace and well being, please stop sending me links or info about him. I don't know who's worse, them or him haha.

Look how good my Karate CV is !

32 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page