top of page
  • Writer's pictureOGKK Australia

Unlocking a Deeper Understanding - Study Japanese will ya!

I received an email last night from a tournament judge I met at the last World Okinawa Karate Tournament. I still remember when he first approached me frothing at the mouth absolutely dying to have a chat about the death metal band T-shirt I was wearing. That point on, we became mates. The email was to invite me to be a judge for the upcoming Youth World Okinawan Karate tournament in August – A shortage of refs, in particular Japanese-speaking foreigners. Wow, quite flattered I was, thinking that he really believes I speak proficient Japanese?

Thanks for the invite, but nahh.

So, my conversational Japanese is nothing to boast about, however I’d rate it enough for a good shit-talking session and to get by without any rost in transration struggles. Anyway, this email by old mate was written entirely in Japanese of which about 95% I could understand – who am I kidding, maybe 70%. One thing I did understand though was the combination of slang and cuss words used which don’t really translate into English too well. It’s these little subtleties which make languages such a wonderful thing - being able to strengthen relationships and deepen understanding of other cultures.


After every Okinawa trip have I felt a sickening disappointment in my own Japanese language skills. Thoughts of if only I had had the lexicon and grammar in my head to have said this or that on the spot; and the regret of saying the wrong things due to a mix up in syntax and so on. The strong urge to better myself upon returning to Oz has always been overcome by the same lame excuse - I don’t have enough free time lah di dah. I want to change and must change – Yeah buddy, I will change!


Having said that, I do feel rather sorry for karateka who have been practicing for decades yet not even understand their own name in Japanese. Heck, even many of the foreigners who belong to OGKK dojos in Okinawa and trained longer than we have, still don’t. Rather embarrassing and shameful in my eyes, but each to their own. And to joke about not knowing your own name was written on the nafudakake (name board)?!….. Hmmm trivial for some, but it makes me wanna throw up and worth ending any energy or relationship I ever had with such people….Yeah yeah you still have a good heart, but the least you can do is learn how to read your name and the style of karate you do.  


How about wearing a belt with what you thought said “Kyoshi Richard” instead was embroidered with “I’m a Dick”? or having a Japanese, or was it Chinese or Korean sign placed upside down in the dojo – as long it looks cool what difference does it make right? I do have a large collection of cringe karate photos where the person or club is oblivious to what is written on their dogi, belts, and/or dojo - but will use my inner peace pass today 😊


To only ever understand the physical aspects of budo is one thing, but to obtain any karate subtleties or minor nuances (and hot goss from your sensei), never underestimate the importance of learning and understanding the Japanese language (or Okinawan dialect). Language isn’t only about words or how to order a beer, but will allow you to enter a world of unique cultural norms and cognitive processes where hopefully your karate will benefit too. I’m positive your Okinawan Sensei will appreciate it, the locals definitely will.


We often laugh at English translations, but how many of you have tried to read or write in a different language?

36 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page