top of page
  • Writer's pictureOGKK Australia

Yeah yeah yeah - I already know

G’day – just a quicky here. So, I just got back from a national professional development event for tertiary instructors a minute ago. Oh, you didn’t know I was a real university educated teacher? 😊 Anyway, as I was sitting in different sessions listening to the various speakers give a spiel on their subject of expertise, what was noticeable was the murmuring each time of the audience members. Different sessions, different people muttering under their breath commenting that they already knew this, this and this. How about a knuckle sandwich? Must admit, majority of the information being offered, I too already had a thorough understanding of - maybe more, but was still actively listening hoping to grab any new ideas even if it was just that extra 1%. I’m sure a lot of people attending were getting a bang for their buck and reaping benefits, but these little muttering people made me wonder why and how they became teachers. I guess regardless of industry, martial arts, or karate style, education and improvement is only beneficial to those who desire to learn and expand their minds. The problem isn’t that people don’t know, it’s that they don’t seem to want to know. Instead of yeah yeah yeah or hai hai hai, how about we try being more ears regardless of how much we already know or think we know. Karate is a lot more connected to everyday life than it seems.


39 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Run

bottom of page