top of page
  • Writer's pictureOGKK Australia

Adapting to Age

This morning, super dazed and weary from an absolute sleepless night looking after my elderly mother, I somehow managed to get myself into the dojo. Saturday is usually the one day I like to take off away from training, away from the dojo and focus on “normal” people’s activities. Having said that, I was asked by a student if they could come and train at the crack of dawn today due to not being able to make it to our regular Sunday session. Me being me, saying no was not possible. So, train we did and function properly I did not. Nitty gritty questions were asked, and straight forward answers I was still too spaced out to provide. As a result, I suggested we sit down and have a little watch of what some of our sensei and masters in Okinawa do on video.


First impressions and comments by the student was that they much preferred my overall feel for the kata. As flattering as it was, I had to quickly butt in and say NO NO NO. Just like a fine wine, as one’s karate “matures”, the differences and adjustments that appear are often evident in the approach which kata is carried out. If you compare the same Okinawan sensei’s kata at 20-year intervals (yes, there are enough videos out there on youtube of the same sensei at those age differences), there will be visible discrepancies.

Sensei Takara Shintoku : Uechi Ryu Karate - Over 90 years old and still going strong.

Obviously, age significantly shapes the way one executes kata and their karate or kobudo training. Regrettably for some, when a karateka or sensei’s karate maybe maturing, the consequence of aging catches up and the inescapable corrosion of both mental and physical abilities become a massive hurdle in reaching that next or higher level. One basic method in defeating this displeasure connected with the understanding of our human limits is simply to pass on what the Okinawans often refer to as “intangible treasures”. The treasures we possess need to be handed down to the next generation. Wouldn’t it be a shame if our beloved art of Okinawan Karate, or better still – Okinawan Goju Karate dies out. Just as most parents out their delight in the success of their own kids, instructors and seniors should aid other karateka in reaching their full potential.


Think I’ve done it again, going off track from what it is I wanted to mention. Anyway, to my student today who will probably never read this or know of this blog’s existence – The more you train, the more you will hopefully one day understand the true essence and nature of Okinawan Karate.

Thank you and good night!

Karate Day 2021 - "Can you feel it?"

83 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page