top of page
  • Writer's pictureOGKK Australia

Looking back on the year - 2022

What a year it’s been – the many ups as well as the numerous downs. From one of us having to move to a new city and restart everything from scratch – including building a new dojo ground up, to being able to rekindle old friendships after numerous covid-cancelled flights, and of course finally being able to travel to Okinawa again (and win a silly medal on the way).

Lunch in Oki - August 2022

Students

Students didn’t come and go this year, instead all remained and trained with persistence & motivation throughout. Considerable improvements were made by all, enough to be proud of them should they ever perform kata in front of our sensei in Okinawa…. Wait a minute.... they will finally get that chance come early next year when we play that flag waving guide for them on our first group tour together. Hopefully a few extra pairs of underwear will be packed in preparation for their long awaited shodan grading and daily training.


Old mates – same ole same ole

The latter half of this year, we had the chance to meet up with many old karate acquaintances through a book launch of an old mutual martial arts instructor of ours. What struck me the most was after all this time – I mean a long longggg time, these old “mates” were never interested or questioned us about what we had been doing, nor curious enough to question anything about Okinawan karate. Maybe it was too daunting to ask, and better to ignore and pretend that what they have and have been doing all this time is the be all or end all. In a way, I feel sorry for such people, then again, if one is happy why change anything? We certainly don’t preach or try to persuade anyone to come over to the “darkside”.


Gratitude returned

Sometimes it is difficult to express gratitude to someone who has given something without expecting anything in return. When one of my students first started training with me several years ago, it was obvious they felt an uneasiness at my not wanting anything in return for accepting them – not a dime, not even a carton of beer. I knew they wanted to express their gratitude in anyway shape or form, but just their attitude and mindset in wanting to train was more than enough for me. Fast forward 3 years, and desperation drowned me. I needed help. Problem irrelevant, however they were quick to offer absolutely all they could do find a resolution. That they could, gratitude returned - Forever grateful I am.

My lost hat found - Oki 2022

My biggest achievement

When we talk about achievements, awards or winning a competition usually comes to mind. Personally speaking however, my biggest achievement for the year is none of the above. It’s rather simple to be the best version of yourself when everything is going right. When life is good, smiling is effortless, seeing the positives is straightforward, and bending over backwards for others when all is going your way – nothing is too troublesome. In contrast, not so much when the tables are turned.

This entire year, and in particular the past few months had personally been a struggle. Sleepless nights worrying and overthinking (Yeah yeah, I am aware of all the Buddhist related strategies dealing with thoughts – though a lot easier said than done), wrinkles increasing, alcohol consumption too skyrocketing. Stepping foot into the dojo should clear one’s mind of the day’s negativities and worries. How about when it doesn’t and you are still responsible for teaching & guiding your students through the night’s session? Why make others worried when everyone else have their own issues and concerns in life?


We can all enjoy the highest of highs, at the same time need to appreciate the lowest of lows. For certain it sucks sweaty dog balls, but there’s a beauty in that suffering and seeing how one maintains their character despite the hardship. This is where I’m going to give myself a huge pat on the back. Regardless of what I was dealing with, training remained on a weekly basis as usual, a smiley face present, nothing changed – so whenever I hear some lame excuse for one’s absence for training, makes me think……..nah, you’d rather not know what I think.


On that note, I’m going to call it a year. Happy new year's everyone, hope 2023 brings continued health and happiness for all - and try not to sweat on the small stuff (like I do haha).

The simple things in life are usually the best

40 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page