top of page
  • Writer's pictureOGKK Australia

Mortality: 85 - 45 = 40

So I just read on the news that the queen had passed away at the ripe old age of 96. A great innings by anyone’s standards, especially since she did not seem to have any prolonged terminal illnesses. Our last three sensei all passed away in their mid-80s even though Okinawa is renowned for the number of centenarians present on the island. The regular liver pounding festivities and frequent passive smoking in the local karaoke bar probably didn’t aid the cause. Mid 80’s minus mid 40’s = approximately 40 years. That’s 40 more years remaining on earth should the three of us be fortunate enough to live that long. From now until then what is it that I/we pursue in life? What is it that I want out of my training? My social life? Friends? Family? Job? I’m sure the universal desire for every individual is simply to seek a happy and meaningful life. So are you happy now? Are you doing anything meaningful?

R.I.P.

59 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page