top of page
  • Writer's pictureOGKK Australia

Am I improving?

Last night I only had one student show up so an even more personalised approach to training was the case. We got into the conversation of how this student still hasn’t experienced being “in” the kata where one loses track of everything else except doing it. Additionally, they mentioned that they don’t possess that special “feeling” or confidence in any particular kata despite that being their karate goal. My Yoda senses told me that this student was questioning whether they were wasting their time training, not ever seeing any personal improvements.

Minei Dojo - August 2022

Well, we can all run a 10-metre sprint, but how many of us can run 10 kms every day? How often do we come across that student who is super-duper keen for the first few months before doing the Houdini act on us? Worst still, is realizing cross graded students too, performing that disappearing act. And the same ole excuses for being missing in action for several months at a time - work, partner, distance etc. I have no more time or patience for such people in my life anymore. You're a nice person with a nice heart - So what when my time is being wasted.


In contrast, you have this one student of mine who has turned up for several years on a consistent basis regardless of the weather conditions, regardless of being zombified from work yet still does something. If anything, I believe their internal strength and perseverance has developed in a way that has had a positive impact on their life outside the dojo. In addition, a deeper grasp of what budo is all about too has been acquired.


Overtime training week in week out – I guess we all go through phases where we question ourselves – what is it that I’m really doing? Why can’t I physically do such and such technique? Will I ever be able to do what I’m supposed to be doing even though I already know what it is I’m expected to do. Hopefully in the process we learn stuff about how our minds and body ticks, can reflect on things for ourselves and in doing so - can discover ourselves through difficult mazes in life.

Life is a maze - one beer at a time. (Post tournament celebrations - Aug 2022)

So, is this student wasting their time training? Absolutely not - There will always be something that will be improving. Progress may not always be clear, but what is clear is that persistence is required. Persistence he has - Continue training and continue growing my friend!

Visiting what remains of Shuri Castle in August 2022- Slowly will it all come together just like one's karate journey..

57 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page