top of page
  • Writer's pictureOGKK Australia

Kindness and openness in karate

After a long stifling training session in the Brisbane mid-morning heat, some students and I sat down to have a nice chit chat over lunch. One asked what they could do for me in return since I was supposedly offering my knowledge, generosity and time at no cost. To me, once again I will use the word "simple". I along with my two other OGKK Brisbane Dojo instructors, have been privileged enough to receive the hospitality and copious amounts of karate knowledge so willingly from our teachers in Okinawa year in year out. We simply want to replicate these actions wholeheartedly. In contrast, if an instructor has been a dictator all their martial arts lives, what chance has the next generation of karate instructors have of breaking this tyrannical cycle?

Too frequently do people inconsiderately and even intentionally aggravate the distress and suffering of others, be it at work, school, and way too often in the karate world. It is the ignorant mindset in people that bathes in delight in the pain and anguish of others. I'm by no means religious, but ALL religions follow the simple rule of treat others as you would like to be treated. Simple isn't it!



35 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page