top of page
  • Writer's pictureOGKK Australia

Loss of Passion

The other week I interviewed a potential new student who had inquired through this website. Each time I say to myself, no – no more students for me. However, sitting down over coffee and listening to what they had to say I thought – Ok why not, I’ll give him a chance. Having had quite a few years away from karate was of no concern to me, as their prior training methods was alike to our present ways. Knowing and having trained with the same people whom we mutually liked and respected obviously played a big part too.


Come first training session, by watching their physical movements and listening to their way of thinking and beliefs – potential was evident, and a great fit for the dojo. “Welcome to the Dojo – You’re in”, I thought. Fast forward a few days, I was informed they had come to the conclusion that the passion to do karate was simply not present anymore, hence shall not be continuing.

My immediate thought was had I said something to offend. Was it my pedantic picking ways with kata too much to handle for someone’s first training session? Or was it the fact I was not formal enough like they may have experienced in the past? Maybe I was too young for their liking? Maybe it was simply just a case of LOSS OF PASSION as they stated.

Keep up that passion kids! (Minei Dojo - April 2022)

It is a little challenging to comprehend yet I can see both sides of the coin. On one side, when I wake up and do my morning poop, scoff down my breakfast, and then brush my teeth – would I stop doing these activities because I have lost the “passion” or don’t feel like doing them? Nope – it’s simply a part of life now. Karateka often come and go, however, hopefully our current crop of students can treat training as a part their lives too. I pooped 40 years ago, I pooped 4 minutes ago, and I will continue pooping my entire life, just like I will karate.

Part of life

52 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page