top of page
  • Writer's pictureOGKK Australia

Plants & Karate - Any connection?

Had an extended lunch break today so I had plenty of time to take a leisurely stroll around the city having a sticky beak in a few stores. Spent most of it standing in one shop reading a book from beginning to end. The store attendants were nice enough not to kick me out, and I did end up buying it regardless of completing it instore. Anyway, it was a book on indoor plants. I’ve never really had a passion for such things growing up, but receiving my first plant gift was all it took in becoming a green thumb. One plant led to another and another, and before I knew it, my yard and inside my home were overflowing with plants and succulents.

Around the yard

Back to the book I was reading. As I was flicking through each page, many thoughts of “Yep, I know that” & “Yep, I know that too” were swirling through my head. How can people publish material that is so basic and easy to understand? Then again, it made me realise I’ve probably spent countless hours, days, and even years on mucking around with propagating and growing my own plants. Some have overdosed and wilted from too much sunlight, in contrast, some have boomed into steroid looking machines - each time a lesson was learnt. A guidebook was never needed nor were workshops on plants….no no no.

Isn’t it amazing sometimes when you simply ‘do’ and are hands on, learning from experience instead of asking infinite questions, how much you come to know from trial and error? Don’t get me wrong, asking questions is valuable, but when you haven’t tried before asking, what good is having a brain?

Maybe I should start experimenting with home electrical jobs …. maybe not.

Oh yeah…. Karate - keep on training! 😊

60 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page